skip navigation

ATTENTION ALL! Join us Sunday May 5 for the 2019 Tyler Routt All-Star Tournament & Len Willeford Home Run Derby

By John Ryan, 04/15/19, 6:15PM PDT


Come out and support the league gamers!

Good afternoon Coaches, Players and Fans,

One of our league's annual hallmark events features two incredibly fun contests known as the Tyler Routt All-Star Tournament and Len Willeford Home Run Derby. These take place on Sunday May 5th, 2019 at Jones Family Park.

As with all of the league's events, the ultimate success of these events depends largely on support and participation from our coaches, players and parents.

With this said, the league is asking coaches for each team (including the Galt Lugnuts and Ironpigs) to select four players to participate in the all-star games and one player to participate in the home run derby. For the all-star games, the players that selected are not necessarily the  post season all-stars (top players) but journeyman level players that love the game of baseball and possess that "yes coach" attitude. For the home run derby, the player that selected should be each team's best hitter and not a Tyler Routt All-star.

Coaches - Please make sure that selected players are available on Sunday May 5th.  Email Coach Doug Penney at no later than 9:00 pm on May 2, 2019 with full player names, uniform number, and positions played for the four all-stars and just the full player name for the home run derby participant.  A single email for both the Tyler Routt All Star Game and the Len Willeford Home Run Derby participants is preferred.

The Len Willeford Home Run Derby will begin at 11:30 am. Check in and warm ups will start at 10:30 am. One player from each of our 12 teams will participate.  The participant should wear their regular season jersey and they will receive a special hat. Most hitters choose to wear shorts and baseball cleats.

The Tyler Routt All-Star Game ceremony will begin at 1:30 pm with the first pitches at 2:00 pm.  Check in and warm ups will start at 12:30 pm.  The players are asked to wear their regular season uniform but will receive a Tyler Routt All-Star Hat.

The  four 12-man team format will be as follows:

  • Mike Trout Division:       Beavers, Red Wings, Thunder
  • Aaron Judge Division:   Scrappers, Lugnuts, Bandits
  • Kris Bryant Division:      River Dogs, River Cats, Iron Pigs
  • Joey Votto Division:       Giants, Rattlers, Ironbirds. 

The goal of this All Star Tournament is to create 4 teams of "Gamers" to play in two exciting games!!

Please do not hesitate to contact me or Coach Doug Penney with any questions that you may have.  Let's have another great All-Star Game/Home Run Derby event!!!


John Ryan
EGBR League Liaison

Tyler Routt

Please enjoy a couple of articles about the Tyler Routt All-Star Tournament from long time EGBR President, coaches and board members.

Tyler Routt All-Stars 2014

Tyler Routt All-Stars 2018